Forum Archive. A read-only snapshot of the Warfare Incorporated forums (2003–2020), preserved for historical purposes.  ·  warfareincorporated.com
Warfare Incorporated Forum

Website Snapshot
Author Message
LawrenceA
Administrator


Joined: 15 Feb 2010
Posts: 1135
Location: New Zealand
 Post Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 7:54 am  Post subject: Website Snapshot

I found this interesting, you guys may too:
Here is the Warfare Inc. website on May the 12th 2005
wonderer
Let The Truth Be Told


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 2221
Location: birth place of, TEXAS
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 9:01 pm  

marked as spam :wink:
Da Dealer
Chat Mod Emeritus


Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 514
Location: Canton, Ohio
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:25 pm  

how long ago was this article wrote...probily not very recent
wonderer
Let The Truth Be Told


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 2221
Location: birth place of, TEXAS
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:54 pm  

probley back in 05
N104
Administrator


Joined: 24 May 2012
Posts: 1382
Location: Pennsylvania
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:17 pm  Post subject: Re: Website Snapshot

LawrenceA wrote:
I found this interesting, you guys may too:
Here is the Warfare Inc. website on May the 12th 2005


He says 2005 so isn’t it kinda obvious? :P
N@TE
Chief Administrator Emeritus


Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 985
Location: Colorado
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:51 pm  Post subject: Interesting link

wonderer wrote:
marked as spam :wink:
I don't see how this is spam in any way.

Da Dealer wrote:
how long ago was this article wrote...probily not very recent
This isn't an article. It's a snapshot of what the WI website was years ago. So yes, it is supposed to be old.


This is a very interesting link, Lawrence. Thanks for posting that. I didn't know the URL to the forum was originally warfareincorporated.com/forum and was later changed to /xyzzy.
wonderer
Let The Truth Be Told


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 2221
Location: birth place of, TEXAS
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:08 pm  

i have no idea what yall are seeing but this is what im seeing when i click on the link

"Loading...

http://www.warfareincorporated.com/

as close to the date:

8:06:49 May 12, 2005

as is available.."
N@TE
Chief Administrator Emeritus


Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 985
Location: Colorado
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:41 pm  Post subject: Wait a couple seconds

wonderer wrote:
i have no idea what yall are seeing but this is what im seeing when i click on the link

"Loading...

http://www.warfareincorporated.com/

as close to the date:

8:06:49 May 12, 2005

as is available.."
Give it a couple seconds to load. Once it's loaded, you will see what the Warfare Inc. website looked like in 2005. If you are still seeing the quoted screen after a full minute, perhaps you have a bad connection or a bad browser.
wonderer
Let The Truth Be Told


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 2221
Location: birth place of, TEXAS
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:46 pm  

ok i was noticing that it wanted to load something but it sounded like it was loading more then one page at a time so i left my bad :oops:
slimjimninja
Veteran Member


Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 1226
Location: away
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:21 pm  

Hmm that's an interesting look at what the site looked like seven years ago.
Mithoz
Forum Conqueror


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 2429
Location: Down under
 Post Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:27 pm  

wow nice!

Any reason for adding on the xyzzy part to the url link now..
LawrenceA
Administrator


Joined: 15 Feb 2010
Posts: 1135
Location: New Zealand
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:29 am  

lol spam.

first link: https://www.google.co.nz/search?q=xyzzy
Scott may have played that game and liked it.

you can also look up snapshots of other websites on the link in the first post, so long as the sites are/were popular.
slimjimninja
Veteran Member


Joined: 30 Mar 2010
Posts: 1226
Location: away
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:40 pm  

Lol how are anyone's posts on here spam?
Mithoz
Forum Conqueror


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 2429
Location: Down under
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:39 am  

xyzzy is a cheat code! O.o and lol google.co.nz! google.com.au is better jus sayin ^_^


The fact that you had to post to ask "how anyone's post on this thread is spam" is spam.
LawrenceA
Administrator


Joined: 15 Feb 2010
Posts: 1135
Location: New Zealand
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 24, 2012 2:03 am  

The 'au' extension is better, but only for Australians. see: http://webmarketingtoday.com/articles/kennedy-country-specific-signals/
VeraKeisey
WI Forum Novice
Joined: 24 Oct 2012
Posts: 1
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:18 am  

Long long time ago?
N104
Administrator


Joined: 24 May 2012
Posts: 1382
Location: Pennsylvania
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:02 pm  

On the first link lawrence posted, if you brows that site a little, theres a link for an old forum snapshot:
http://web.archive.org/web/20060703064231/http://www.warfareincorporated.com/forum/index.php?

The forums one was in 2006 and looks a lot different. No clubs, clans , map groups, or forum mafia.
By who moderated the pages, it looks like darrinm and Verdagon ran a lot of it.